

# AUSTRALASIAN STUDY OF PARLIAMENT GROUP South Australian Chapter

ANNUAL CONFERENCE 5-7 OCTOBER 2016 PARLIAMENT HOUSE, ADELAIDE

## **Program**

## Day 1: Wednesday, 5 October 2016 (Afternoon)

2.30 – 4.00 pm ASPG Executive Meeting & APR Editorial Board Meeting – Watarru Room

4.15 – 5.15 pm AGM – Balcony Room

From 5.15 pm Conference Registration – Old Library, Old Parliament House

5.30pm – 7.00pm Welcome Reception

Muriel Matters – The Suffragist and The Grille

#### Day 2: Thursday, 6 October 2016

8.30 am Registration, Tea and Coffee

9.00 am Welcome to Country, Kaurna Greeting

Official Opening of Conference.

Georgina Williams (Kaurna People)

Hon M Atkinson MP (Speaker, House of Assembly)

9.15 am Opening Address

**Chair: Colleen Lewis**Dr John Hewson

10.00 am *Morning tea* 

10.30 am Session 1: Is anybody listening – real engagement or lip service?

Chair: Kris Faafoi MP

Tanja Zech (NSW Parl) – Digitalisation of Parliamentary Records.

George Williams (NSW Uni) – Petitions. Chris Picton MP – Local Member perspective David Speirs MP – Local Member perspective

12.15 pm <u>Optional Parliament House Tour</u> Lunch (12.30 pm)

1.30 pm Session 2: How parties and politics have fettered our parliaments.

**Chair: Mark Parnell MLC** 

Steven Reynolds (NSW Parl) - Political Parties, Parliament and Policy.

Kylie Coulson (Curtin Uni) – Budget Estimates Committees.

3.00 pm Afternoon tea

## 3.15 pm Session 3: The impact of the media on the parliamentary process.

**Chair: John Gardner MP** 

Ray Stevens MP (QLD) – Politics – The Greatest Reality TV Show on Earth.

Media Panel: Tom Richardson – InDaily editor

David Bevan – ABC Radio Adelaide Mike Smithson – Channel 7 News Tory Shepherd – The Advertiser

## 6.30pm <u>Conference dinner (Adelaide Oval)</u>

Guest Speaker - Amanda Vanstone

#### Day 3: Friday, 7 October 2016

8.30 am Tea and Coffee

## 9.00 am Session 4: Lobbyists influencing government – the mutual appreciation society.

#### **Chair: Rosemary Crowley**

Wayne Matthew (Former MP) – Lobbyists, Playing a Crucial Role in Process of Govt.

Colleen Lewis (Monash Uni) – Political Funding. John Hill (Former MP) – Community Campaigns.

10.30 am <u>Conference Photograph – Front Steps?</u> Morning tea

#### 11.15 am Session 5: The Executive's contempt for parliament.

## **Chair: Steph Key MP**

John Seal-Pollard (WA Parl) – Can committee systems ameliorate the ever growing power disparity between the executive and the parliament?

Tom Spencer (QLD Uni) – Uncourtly Behaviour.

Sarah Moulds (ADL Uni) – Committees of Influence: The capacity to change Australia's counter-terrorism laws.

12.45pm *Lunch* 

### 1.45 pm Session 6: Through the looking glass – external scrutiny of parliaments.

Chair: Lee Odenwalder MP

Wayne Lines (SA Ombudsman)

Anna Olijnyk (Adelaide Uni) – Constitutional limits, a restraint on legislative process.

#### 3.15 pm *Afternoon tea*

#### 3.30 pm Session 7: Confidence in our parliaments and our MPs.

#### Chair: Stephen Wade MLC

Jonathan O'Dea MP (NSW) – Out of the Bear Pit.

Laura Grenfell (ADE Uni) – History of Parliamentary Committees.

Ralph Clarke (Former MP) – Democratic Governance of Political Parties.

#### 5.00 pm Closing of Conference by Colleen Lewis, National President ASPG

Farewell Drinks - Balcony Room