

# Australasian Study of Parliament Group New South Wales Chapter

# **2014 Annual Conference**

# How Representative is Representative Democracy?



# SYDNEY 1 – 3 October 2014





New South Wales Chapter

ANNUAL CONFERENCE, 1-3 OCTOBER 2014, PARLIAMENT HOUSE, SYDNEY

### **Conference speakers**

Professor Richard Herr Academic Coordinator, Parliamentary Law and Practice, Law Faculty, University of

Tasmania

Professor Jon Fraenkel Professor in Comparative Politics, School of History, Philosophy, Political Science and

International Relations, Victoria University of Wellington

Mr Peter Topura Director – Procedures, Autonomous Region of Bougainville House of Representatives

Mr Antony Green Australian Broadcasting Commission Election Analyst

**Dr Therese Arsenau** Senior Fellow, Political Science, University of Canterbury, New Zealand

Ms Louise Upston, MP Chief Government Whip, National Member for Taupo, Parliament of New Zealand

Ms Louisa Wall, MP Labour Member for Manurewa, New Zealand Parliament

**Professor Anne Twomey** Professor of Constitutional Law, University of Sydney

Mr Tim Wilson Human Rights Commissioner, Australia

Ms Helen Minnican Clerk-Assistant, Committees and Corporate, NSW Legislative Assembly

**Dr Liam Weeks** Department of Government, University College Cork, Ireland; Honorary Fellow,

Department of Politics and International Relations, Macquarie University

Mr David Blunt Clerk of the Parliaments, NSW Legislative Council

**Professor Geoff Gallop** Director, Graduate School of Government, University of Sydney; Former Premier of

Western Australia

**Professor Simon Tormey** Professor and Head of School, School of Social and Political Sciences, Faculty of Arts

and Social Sciences, University of Sydney

**Dr Anika Gauja**Honours Coordinator, Department of Government and International Relations,

Faculty of Arts, Sydney University

Mr Ben Franklin State Director, NSW National Party

Hon Tony Smith MP Federal member for Casey; Chair, Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters

Senator Nick Xenophon Independent Senator for South Australia

Senator David Leyonhjelm Liberal Democratic Party Senator for New South Wales

Mr David Gibson MP Member for Gympie, Queensland Parliament

Mr Michael Tatham Clerk, Northern Territory Legislative Assembly

Professor Marian Sawer Editor, International Political Science Review School of Politics and International

Relations, Australian National University



New South Wales Chapter
Annual Conference, 1-3 October 2014, Parliament House, Sydney

# Day 1: Wednesday, 1 October 2014

3:15pm – 5:00pm ASPG Executive Meeting & APR Editorial Board Meeting (Waratah Room)

5:30pm – 7:00pm Welcome Reception – including conference registration

(Reception location to be advised)



New South Wales Chapter

Annual Conference, 1-3 October 2014, Parliament House, Sydney

# Day 2: Thursday, 2 October 2014

8:30 – 9:00 9:00 – 9:10	Registration and tea and coffee Conference opening remarks	
	Session 1: Emerging Parliamentary democracies in the Pacific Islands	
9:10 – 9:30	Professor Richard Herr	Cultural adaptations of the Westminster model in Fiji and Samoa
9:30 – 9:50	Professor Jon Fraenkel	The hidden order in Melanesian 'disorderly democracy'
9:50 – 10:19	Mr Peter Topura	Making the standing orders work for the people
10:10 - 10:40		General Discussion
10:40 - 11:00	Morning tea	
	Session 2: Parliaments and elections	
11:00 – 11:20	Mr Antony Green	The limits of preferential voting – lessons from the 2013 Australian Senate election
11:20 – 11:50	Dr Therese Arsenau Ms Louise Upston, MP Ms Louisa Wall, MP	The impact of MMP on representation in New Zealand's Parliament – a view from inside and outside Parliament
11:50 - 12:20		General Discussion
12:20 - 1:30	Lunch	
1:00 - 1:30	Optional Parliament House Tour	
4.00 4.50	Session 3: Election funding	
1:30 – 1:50	Professor Anne Twomey	The High Court on election funding
1:50 – 2:20	Mr Tim Wilson, Panel of MPs and MLCs from the NSW Parliament	Panel discussion
2:20 - 2:50		General Discussion
2:50 - 3:10	Afternoon tea	
	Session 4: Decision making in Parliament	
3:10 – 3:30	Ms Helen Minnican	
3:10 - 3:30	ws Heien Minnican	Representation revisited – former members on Parliament and the role of elected representatives
3:30 – 3:50	Dr Liam Weeks	Parliaments without parties
3:50 – 4:10	Mr David Blunt	Parliamentary speech and the location of decision making
4:10 - 4:40		General Discussion
5:00 - 6:00	ANNUAL GENERA	L MEETING (Macquarie Room – all members welcome)

Conference Dinner at Pavilion Restaurant, Art Gallery Road
Pre-dinner drinks at 7:30 pm
Featuring Mr Quentin Dempster, broadcaster, journalist and author



New South Wales Chapter

Annual Conference, 1-3 October 2014, Parliament House, Sydney

# Day 3: Friday, 3 October 2014

	-	
8:30 - 9:00	Tea and coffee	
9:00 – 9:10	Final day opening remarks	
	Session 5: Alternative repres	entative and decision-making models
9:10 – 9:30	Professor Geoff Gallop	Democracy – is there a third way?
9:30 – 9:50	Professor Simon Tormey	From representative to 'post representative democracy'?
9:50 – 10:20		General Discussion
10:20 - 10:40	Morning tea	
Session 6: Selecting representatives for representative democracy		
10:40 - 11:00	Dr Anika Gauja	Candidate selection methods and candidate diversity in Australia
11:00 - 11:20	Mr Ben Franklin,	Community pre-selection –The Nationals
11:20 – 11:40	Representative from the NSW Branch of the Australian Labor	Community pre-selection – Australian Labor Party
	Party	
11:40 - 12:10		General Discussion
12:10 - 1:10	Lunch	
	Session 7: Non-government parliamentary majorities	
1:10 - 1:50	Hon Tony Smith MP,	Panel discussion
	Panel of Senators including	
	Senator Nick Xenophon	
	Senator David Leyonhjelm	
1:50 – 2:15		General Discussion
2:15 – 2:40	Afternoon tea	
	Session 8: Representation and diversity	
2:40 - 3:00	Mr David Gibson MP	Disability, inclusion and democracy – An uncomfortable fit
3:00 – 3:20	Mr Michael Tatham	Participation and power – Aboriginal members of the Northern Territory Legislative Assembly
3:20 – 3:40	Professor Marian Sawer	Beyond numbers: The role of specialised parliamentary bodies in promoting gender equality
3:40 – 4:10		General Discussion

ASPG President closes the Conference – followed by farewell drinks