

Report of the Western Australian Chapter of the ASPG

Membership

The Western Australian Chapter of the ASPG had 107 financial members during 2016–2017, including three corporate memberships. Members' names appear below:

Mr Mike Filer	Mr Matthew Blampey	Ms Lisa Bell
Ms Lindy Precious	Ms Cheryl O'Connell	Mr Brian Rettinger
Dr Kylie Coulson	Mr Sven Bluemmel	Hon Barry House MLC
Prof David Black AM	Dr Harry Phillips AM	Mr Peter Kleins
Mr Peter Abetz MLA	Dr Giuseppe Ripepi	Ms Janine Freeman MLA
Hon Andrea Mitchell MLA	Dr Martin Drum	Hon Michael Sutherland MLA
Cr Michelle Sutherland	Hon Stephen Dawson MLC	Mr Peter Wilkins
Hon Kate Doust MLC	Ms Nanwen Sounness	Hon Colin Barnett MLA
Mr Robert O'Connor QC	Ms Cheryl Davenport	Ms Jennie Railton-Smith
Mr Chris Hatton MLA	Hon Simon O'Brien MLC	Hon John Castrilli MLA
Hon Donna Faragher MLC	Ms Alison Harris	Mr Jeremy Buxton
Hon Michelle Roberts MLA	Hon John Kobelke	Ms Dominique Hoad
Ms Natasha Clark	Hon Nick Goiran MLC	Hon Martin Pritchard MLC
Ms Lisa Baker MLA	Mr Ian Britza MLA	Ms Jacinta Dharmananda
Hon Peter Watson MLA	Mr Kelvin Matthews	Ms Lisa Belde
Mr Alex Roseveare	Mr Daniel Johnson	Mr Paul Parsonage
Hon Roger Cook MLA	Hon Helen Morton MLC	Hon David Templeman MLA
Hon KenTravers	Ms Eril Reid	Dr Tony Buti MLA
Mr Justin Harbord	Hon Liz Behjat MLC	Ms Lisa Reynders
Mr Peter Katsambanis MLC	Mr John Turnbull	Ms Martha Turnbull
Mr Colin Murphy PSM	Hon Rick Mazza MLC	Dr Murray Alder
Mr Tony Krsticevic MLA	Hon Tony Simpson MLA	Hon Bill Marmion MLA
Mr Chris Avent	Hon Alyssa Hayden MLC	Ms Margaret Quirk MLA
Hon Alanna Clohesy MLC	Hon Adele Farina MLC	Dr Isla Macphail (LA)

Hon Michael Murray AM QC	Mr Michael Wood	Hon Brendon Grylls MLC
Hon Mia Davies MLA	Hon Terry Redman MLA	Hon Colin Holt MLC
Mr Shane Love MLA	Mr Vince Catania MLA	Ms Wendy Duncan MLC
Hon Terrence Waldron MLC	Hon Martin Aldridge MLC	Hon Paul Brown MLC
Hon Jacqui Boydell MLC	Hon Dave Grills MLC	Hon Anthony Fels
Hon Simone McGurk MLA	Hon Bill Johnston MLA	Mr John McGrath MLA
Hon Peter Tinley MLA	Mr Chris Tallentire MLA	Hon Kay Hallahan AO
Mr Rob Hunter (PSD)	Dr Sarah Murray	Dr Yvonne Haigh
Hon Michael Mischin MLC	Hon Lynn MacLaren MLC	Mr Peter Kennedy
Ms Mandy Hudson	Mr Matthew Keogh MP	Ms Cassie Harrison
Mr Nigel Pratt (LC)	Dr Ken Evans	Hon Mark Lewis MLC
Ms Remie Paulik	Ms Kay Heron	

Chapter activities

The Chapter hosted two member events in 2016–2017:

- A dinner seminar on 15 September 2016 featuring the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Western Australia, Hon Wayne Martin QC AC, on the topic 'Parliament and the Courts'. A panel of five lawyer–MPs including the Speaker, Hon Michael Sutherland MLA, Hon Adele Farina MLC, Dr Tony Buti MLA, Hon Nick Goiran MLC and Hon Peter Katsambanis MLC, provided a parliamentary perspective to the topic.
- 2. A supper seminar on 20 June 2017 at which the Auditor General of Western Australia, Mr Colin Murphy PSM, addressed the Group on the topic: '10 Years of Audit... "Dollars and Sense".

The WA Chapter contributed to the ASPG working group's ongoing review of the ASPG website as well as the working group examining the ASPG corporate membership structure.

Both Presiding Officers, and a number of parliamentary officers and WA Chapter members, also attended the 2016 ASPG Conference in Adelaide.

Corporate Membership Votes at AGM

These votes will be exercised by:

- Dr Isla Macphail, Legislative Assembly
- Ms Rebecca Burton, Legislative Council

Finance

During the period under review, the WA Chapter received \$7,740.00 revenue through membership fees and expended \$4,411.20 on event catering.

The Chapter has also remitted \$2,400.00 of corporate membership fees to the National Executive covering 2015–2016 and 2016–2017 on behalf of the departments of the Legislative Assembly,

Legislative Council and Parliamentary Services. One set of fees (\$800) was paid before 30 June 2017, and the remaining fees (\$1,600.00) were paid after 30 June 2017.

As at 30 June 2017, the Chapter's bank account held \$33,440.95. (Corporate membership fees remitted to the National Executive do not appear on this statement.)

I provide an assurance that these details are correct.

Isla Mayohai

Dr Isla Macphail

Hon Secretary–Treasurer WA ASPG Chapter

Date: 12 September 2017